Introduction

Introduction

Postby Clarion » Thu May 02, 2013 3:38 pm

Greetings and welcome to the beginnings of our new GUGA forum, the predominant format of which will be webstories. I first began participating in webstories on Ambrosia Software's Escape Velocity board at the end of 2000. In a webstory, each writer takes on the role of several characters or one or more factions, writing that perspective of the story and adding details to develop the overall universe as they go. My background is in highly competitive and structured games the main objective of which was to outwit your opponent with clever character moves and deployment of forces. Even in those however, the writing was rich enough that I would often go back and read pages upon pages of an old story to relive it. I intend for our stories here to be more on the side of serious writing. We can still enjoy some friendly competition, but the structure will be far less rigid. We can agree on rules that are beneficial to the story and construct the environment together through our posts instead of making it predetermined.

For our initial story, my vote for the basic characteristics of our universe will be scifi, interstellar, with multiple species and factions. I'm inclined toward realism, that is to say no magic, although I would consider fringe science and supernatural abilities to be welcome. We should also consider faster-than-light travel and communication to be readily available so that our characters can start off in distant places and still eventually interact with each other. I recommend that we allow control of each other's characters within reason, mainly when they are in direct contact with one of our own (such as in a conversation so that we don't have to post each line and response back and forth).